“Diversity has a huge impact on not only the present but the future”

home, stories

While you were growing up who did you see in the media that looked like you?

When I was growing up I hardly saw anyone in the media who looked like me. There may have been one or two people but not many. I mainly grew up with television that starred may other people from other cultures but mine. I watched programmes in my language however diversity was limited even on those programmes.
In school who did you learn about that looked like you or had similar experiences to you? 
From what I can recall I don’t think I learnt about anyone that shared experiences or looked like me. The only instances that I recall that this took place was when we had to do presentations on our chosen subjects.
Why do you think diversity and representation is important? 
Diversity has a huge impact on not only the present but the future. Children like me who are from other cultures grow up between two spilt cultures one being the British culture and the other being our own. From my own experience it leads to some conflicting opinions even on day to day issues. I feel that by advertising diversity it would encourage people to break those culture barriers and it would also help those understand people more. Diversity should also be a crucial part of the school curriculum to show that there are other ways of living. I also think it will help students to be more open minded about current issues and be able to voice their opinion. I definitely think diversity should be given more importance.
Leave a Reply

