“I love living in London because at least five minutes after stepping outside my house I see so many different cultures and people”

home, stories

While you were growing up who did you see in the media that looked like you?

Not many people but I guess the girl from bend it like Beckham, Rani from The Sarah Jane Adventures and M.I.A (the singer) but that’s about it. Also, the BBC London News Presenters, but they were an older version of me! I could consider IISuperwomanII as well but that was much later, in like year 9!
In school who did you learn about that looked like you or had similar experiences to you?
No-one. Wow… that’s actually really sad! 😛 I did actively search stuff on people like Indira Gandhi and Mahatma Gandhi, but that was in my own time. Same with similar experiences, I didn’t really have an idol.

Indira Priyadarshini Ganhi was an Indian politician and central figure of the Indian National Congress party, and to date the only female Prime Minister of India

 

Why do you think diversity and representation is important?
 I think it’s important because it helps you to appreciate other backgrounds more and can also aid your understanding of different customs and that can lead to better communication. It’s really interesting learning about different cultures and idols from those cultures. It also helps us to be more aware of the world around us and can seriously open our eyes! Plus, with diversity I don’t feel like I have a giant neon sign hovering above my head that screams about my insecurity that I am different purely because of the way I look and my culture.
Other thoughts…
I love living in London because at least five minutes after stepping outside my house I see so many different cultures and people. Each of these people have a different story and their race didn’t make those stories, it was the people. I feel that if there was more representation of different cultures/races then society wouldn’t be so scared to express a part of their identity. Even when I was as young as nine I questioned if the colour of my skin affected how far I could go in  this world which, thinking about it now, is actually quite bad!
Leave a Reply

