“If it was not during Black History Month, I didn’t learn about anyone that looked like me”

home, stories
While you were growing up who did you see in the media that looked like you?
I grew up in South East London which is very culturally diverse and as far as I remember growing up, the person I can think of who resembled me in the media was Kelly Rowland. At the time, I was a big fan of the Destiny’s Child and Kelly Rowland was the only dark skinned black woman I would see on TV and even aspire to look like when growing up.
In school who did you learn about that looked like you or had similar experiences to you? 
In primary school, if it was not during Black History Month, I didn’t learn about anyone that looked like me but then when I moved to Ghana I started learning about Ghanaian history so it was more relevant to me personally. I think that the fact that I lived in Africa for 6 years ( 2 years in Ghana and 4 years in the Republic of Benin) made me learn more about people that were more like me and had similar experiences to me, and I don’t know if I would have been exposed to such information if I had stayed in the UK for most of my secondary school life.
Why do you think diversity and representation is important? 
I think diversity and representation is important because we live in a world where we are all different, we all come from different places in the world and I think it is important to acknowledge that. Refusing to be diverse is in my opinion refusing to accept what the world is like. Representation is even more important I believe because even if we are all aware of diversity, it is not accurately shown and that is in my opinion a shame.

Did you relate to this? Do you have any questions? If so, write them in the comment section below- we would love to hear from you 🙂

If you would like to share your stories, experiences and opinions email us at oneisnotenough16@gmail.com.

Bless x

#Oneisnotenough TEAM

Twitter: @1isnotenough
Leave a Reply

